iAddict – [DIGC202]

I am a smart phone user. I love the freedoms it allows me to have as a citizen in a technology driven society. I, like many others have had both phones that run on the two main phone operating systems (Android & iOS). For years I was sold on the ideals of the Android’s open design. With Freedoms to access the core content within the mobile device, its productive features and an applications market, in which all content is considered equal which can be found easily through the one market portal (Google Play) the Android system appealed highly to the inner geek in me. Butler (2011) describes the Android system as a platform that embraces the old replace-and- reuse philosophy, which effectively lets users customise the phone. It is this model of customisation, coupled with a reduced price in acquisition that has the Android phone out selling the iPhone almost 4:1.

After revisiting my mobile phone history it is safe to say that I have had or used pretty much every type and design that has ever graced this Earth. From flip-phones to the ever popular slide models; mobile technology has been a part of my social life for the last 15 years. Fast-forward to July 2012 and this is roughly the date where my love affair for the little green robot came to disastrous and abrupt end.

After learning of a new software update for my Android device I was excited to see the new layout and features it claimed to offer. To my delight the install was a success and the phone not only looked better than ever, it was quicker and smarter. That afternoon of the update my phone started to act strange. It was lagging and I felt something was wrong. After the phone failed to turn on for 2 days (with a full battery) I had had enough. I was angry and wanted answers. After scouring the Internet for information on my device, most reports basically labeled the new system a dud and recommended a switch to the almighty iPhone. For years I fought against the idea of conforming to the iPhone generation.

Why would I want a closed operating system with little to no room for customisation with boundaries on creativity? After a quick Facebook poll the decision was made and I set off to buy my first iPhone. Fast forward another year and I am still a very happy iOS user. As an Android user I always felt this sense of empowerment because I could change the system if I wanted to. However, I never did, nor had any plans to change the system. Changing file structures, re-routing access information and manipulating the core features on the device were simply unobtainable for a regular phone user such as myself.

I am happy to be freed from confusing file systems, convoluted install processes, and other legacies of traditional computing. Although I do not judge those who are grateful for these options and features. Inevitably, what appears to be a loss to some will be more than a massive offset by a massive gain to many.
As I sit in busy study section of the student study area I can see a large cross section of both iPhone and Android devices. Ultimately the choice comes down to the user. I like many other iPhone users I have talked to consider the level of security the App Store offers as a key selling point of the iOS system. Users feel safe when purchasing content, which still remains a risk for those acquiring content through the Google Play store. What ever your choice, always remember to key lock your phone to prevent invasions (Frapes = Facebook Rapes)  from those closest to you 🙂

 

Luke Macdonald
2nd Year Media & Communication & Commerce Student @UOW
Majoring in Digital Communication & Marketing

Leave a Reply

